top of page
  • arntwrite

Courtney Miller to Justine Woods

Updated: Dec 18, 2021



Dear Justine,


Since you taught me my first beading stitches last year over Zoom, I've been thinking about different kinds of gestures to express my gratitude. As I fumbled my way through learning the single needle flat stitch, you invited me to join your virtual Beading Circle. It was the first year of the pandemic, and I was feeling the need for social connection as a recent MFA grad in isolation. The biweekly sessions provided me with the opportunity to gather safely with beaders and learn a new skill.


The Beading Circle has been an important social space for many people. In some of the sessions I joined online, there were upwards of 40 participants all beading together. I noticed that some beaders attend to learn new techniques from the guest artists, while others enjoy working on their personal projects and chatting. Everyone in this circle is so generous with their knowledge and skill-sharing. As an attentive host, it's clear to see that the participants and guests feel at ease in the space you create.



I remember when you came to visit my curatorial MFA thesis exhibition, a couple days before OCAD shut down due to the pandemic. You were completing the first year of your MDes, and I asked you about your plans for your thesis project. One of your ideas was to make a pair of beaded gauntlets. This year, it was wonderful to see those gauntlets come to life as part of a small clothing collection in your thesis, "I love you as much as all the beads in the universe: a garment-based inquiry into re-stitching alternative worlds of love". As someone who once wanted to study fashion, I can see the attention to detail in each garment as both functional and ornate. Most importantly, however, I can see the love stitched into the fabric, knowing that the garments were made and worn with your family.


While the time difference between BC and Ontario sometimes prevents me from attending more Beading Circle sessions, I will pop in when I can. I'm looking forward to hearing about your upcoming projects as you embark on your PhD!


Talk soon!


Courtney


Originally published in Ar(n)t Write - Issue 2: https://issuu.com/arntwrite/docs/zine_issue2-printpdf

Courtney Miller: @courtneygeorgia; Justine Woods: https://www.justinewoods.com/ Images and text are courtesy of Courtney Miller.


bottom of page